Just another Manic Monday

So I’ve joined the ranks of people who blog. Although I feel I should start off with a bang, I think I’ll stick with talking about the past few days (like any good Monday blog post). The weekend was pretty jam-packed! Friday after I got home from work, we threw together a quick dinner, and then it was off to a Leadership Team meeting for my choir (I’m the Secretary). Our new lead team is pretty great, and we got a lot accomplished. Things are shaping up really nicely for the upcoming season, and as usual I love all the music choices.

When the meeting was done, my husband picked me up and we headed to Loblaw’s for our weekly grocery-shopping excursion. Mine clocked in a exactly $50 (when does that ever happen???) and his were $46. Since we started shopping for ourselves, I am getting better about not buying too much produce so that we don’t waste food, but we sometimes get our wires crossed and I still make mistakes sometimes.

55370484

When we got home, I had a bunch of stuff to do, but I put the groceries away and flaked out on the couch with some homemade popcorn with coconut oil, sea salt, and nooch. It was fairly early to bed so we could get up early for some Saturday morning football action!

3200

We watched Arsenal (<3) beat Newcastle, and then a bit of the West Ham v Liverpool upset, then headed to my parents’ for a few hours. I had some packages to pick up, and they needed help setting up their BBQ. While I was there, I went for a run and worked out a bit, and we had a delicious lunch of all foods out of their garden (minus bacon and rolls, which I wish they could grow!). We then went to my choir director’s house for the annual Re-Connect potluck and party! We had a great time. I got to try out my new bathing suit and chill in the pool for an hour.

CAM01059

There was sooo much delicious food, including burgers, corn, kale salad, Caesar salad, broccoli-cauliflower salad, chili, and pretty much every dessert possible. I sampled cheesecake tarts, custard tarts, shortbread, pb fudge, cookies, and peanut butter cup ice cream cake. I felt so unwell from all of the food, and couldn’t even stand up straight for awhile. But then I had to run around the house looking for a missing cat, which helped. Later in the evening, we gathered around the piano to sing through all of the new music. Everyone left eventually (we were staying over), and we sat around the table and chatted until 230am. Oops!

We usually stay and hang out on Sunday mornings after sleepovers, but we hadn’t been home much on the weekend, so we were up and headed back to the kitties at 9am. When we got home, we threw on the Man Utd vs Swansea match while I did some MAJOR meal prepping: turkey burgers, black bean burgers, chia puddings, overnight oats, power packed quinoa bowls, and peanut butter balls. Then we switched and Joaquin did his meal prep while I relaxed. When he was done, I forced him to do Day One of the PopSugar Fitness 14-day plank challenge with me. He struggled so much, especially with the side plank, and we found it so funny that I laughed until I cried. Added ab workout! Our evening ended with the obligatory trashy Bachelor in Paradise viewing. I surprisingly slept like a log (Sunday nights are usually a struggle).

2015-08-30_17.37.10

This morning we were up and at ‘em at 6. I went for a run. I’m still in the run/walk phase, but I’m really improving. Something weird is going on with my Nike Running app though, and it died partway through after tracking really inaccurately. Fortunately, I also had my Garmin with me because I like overkill. I felt great about the run (though not about my decision to wear long sleeves). Did a quick toning workout when I got home (TIU’s String Bikini and Best Summer Ab Routine), and then jumped in the shower to get ready for the day! My breakfast of coconut chai chia pudding was actually to die for. Though the scent of chai always takes me back to Nepal, which is bittersweet. I had such an amazing time there, and I feel so sorry for everything the country has had to go through since. One of my FB friends has been involved in providing a lot of aid there (both pre- and post-quake), which is really nice to see. I didn’t stay in touch with anyone from there, so I am telling myself that everyone we met survived. Talk of Nepal also makes me SO EXCITED for my upcoming honeymoon to Bali! We have such a great itinerary (put together by yours truly), and I know it is going to be an AMAZING experience!

1375933_10101346956560631_1118840988_n

By the way, the dessert I brought to the pot luck was incredibly popular, and could not have been easier. It doesn’t exactly qualify as clean or healthy food, but that’s okay! I used Real Mom Kitchen’s Chocolate Chip Cake Mix Cookie Bars recipe, with white cake mix and butterscotch pudding mix. The recipe made a ton, and they were mostly gone by the end of the night. I left almost all of the rest at the host’s house as a thank you for hosting, but three made their way home with me….they have since disappeared! I’m probably going to have to try this with different flavours for future events, because it was so easy and popular!

Leave a Reply

