Five Friday Favourites

So this week has been a bit of a whirlwind of packing and just general excitement. Can’t believe I’ll soon be in Bali!

DPS Bali Lake Bratan Temple2_b

So, accordingly, my five Friday favourites are going to be pretty vacation-heavy, but not entirely, I promise!

My new backpack

After doing most of my packing in my hiking pack, I decided that I could probably fit all of my clothes into a backpack. The problem is that I have had my current backpack for 10 years, and the zippers no longer work. It has served me well, but it is falling apart, and would never survey an international flight, let alone an active vacation. I asked my mom to grab me a new backpack in the back-to-school sales, and it turned out she had already bought me one for Christmas. So while I’m disappointed that I’ve spoiled my Christmas present, I love the backpack, and I’m thrilled that my packing does indeed fit in it properly

CAM01154

2. The Voices of Broadway Show Choir

We had our first choir rehearsal of the season last night! I’ve been doing lots of behind-the-scenes work all summer, but it was so great to get the whole group together, and to sing with everyone. The repertoire we will be performing this season is amazing, and I’m so pumped about it. My biggest problem with choir is that I always get home from rehearsals too amped up to sleep. It is a lengthy winding-down process. I’m willing to take a little bit of lost sleep though! It’s going to be a great year!

11393208_405640829637333_6640976872156453661_n

3. Fun new packing trick

So my aunt gave me a great tip, which may be part of the reason why I was able to fit everything in a tiny backpack. You take some extra large ziploc bags, put your clothes in them, seal them almost all the way, stand on them until all the air is out, and then seal them up the rest of the way. It essentially vacuum-packs the clothes. My aunt also claims that it helps to prevent wrinkles. I can’t vouch for that, but I will tell you that I always considered myself a good packer, but this is better than anything I’ve ever done. Once sealed, I placed the bags in my backpack. I’ll report back on how they travelled!

CAM01119

4. Charity Miles

I mentioned before that I am a TIU girl. Today they released the info on their Fall Challenge. In addition to the fitness and clean eating components, they added in another aspect this time; people who do the challenge get the chance to give back. I will be doing the challenge in support of one of my favourite charities, and hope I will earn some money for them. But even if I’m not lucky enough to win, I know I will still be supporting a good cause. The challenge is also synced up with Charity Miles, a free app that tracks your miles (walking, running, or working out), and then donates to a charity of your choice. I went for a run this morning before I knew about the challenge, so I missed out on three miles, but I went out for a walk on my break to test it out. In that time, I earned 15 cents for my charity (in this case, I picked an organization that provides malaria nets). Yes, it’s not much money, but every little bit counts. This is going to become a staple part of my runs. I’m so excited that something like this exists!

Screenshot_2015-09-10-20-37-54

5. Something Rotten!

Okay I know this is cheating, because I’ve already used it, but it is even more a favourite than it was last week! We decided that we have enough time on our layover in NY to sneak to Manhattan and catch a show. This show was literally made for me. There is no more perfect audience member for it than me. A parody musical involving Shakespeare? Sign me up. I’ve been telling Joaquin about it for almost a year. I’m thrilled to be able to see it. I’ve been humming the music all week, and I regularly explain obscure musical or Shakespearean references to anyone who will listen. I’m a treat, I tell you. Be prepared for me to gush a lot about the show when I get back!

Questions for you?

What are your favourites for the week?

Do you have any sneaky packing tips?

What is your luggage like?

Leave a Reply

