My Favourite Trips

I have been seeing a lot of posts about bucket lists and all of that. I’ve thought about doing something similar on the blog, but there is one problem: I cannot come up with a bucket list! I really have tried, but I want to travel everywhere. I can never narrow it down. I have been fortunate enough to travel to some amazing places, and a lot of them would never have been on my bucket list. In general, I am a person who likes to have everything scheduled and planned, but I seem to be more open to possibilities when it comes to travelling. With another amazing trip happening, this seems like a good time to look back on some of my favourite vacations, and how they came about (from most to least recent).

Nepal

1375933_10101346956560631_1118840988_n

It never would have occurred to me to dream of going to Nepal. I often browse travel deals when I’m bored, because I have such wanderlust, and I’m always interested in what is going on. This amazing Nepal trip appeared one day, and I could not pass it up. We flew into Katmandhu, stayed in a hostel for a few nights, bused out to the Chitwan National Park area, where we stayed several days and did lots of nature walks. Then we went back to Katmandhu for awhile, did some activities like an Everest flight, a Nepali cooking class, and paragliding, and then we trekked part of the Annapurna Circuit. It was incredible. Joaquin had been on one trip to a resort in Mexico before, so it was a pretty dramatic experience for him. I can’t even put into words what an amazing time we had. We were lucky to be with a great group of people, and had excellent guides and porters. We were there before the earthquake, and I am still devastated about it. For awhile after the quake, I couldn’t even look through my pictures. It is a wonderful country, and the people we met were amazing.

Peru

522811_10100846408592771_1277934377_n

My friend Heather and I went to Peru a few years ago. When I studiend Spanish in university, I kept doing projects on Peru, and I thought it would be a really neat place to visit because of the varied climates, the amazing-sounding food, and of course Machu Picchu. I never really planned to actually go, though. Anyway, Heather stumbled onto a really good sale from Intrepid Travel (it was essentially 50% off), and we found a trip that really appealed to us, so off we went! We flew into Lima, travelled around the country, including a homestay on the floating islands of Lake Titicaca, a stop at Ollantaytambo, some time in Cusco, topped off with a visit to Machu Picchu. I’m not one who is really into ruins. I appreciate them but then I’m bored. That being said, Machu Picchu actually took my breath away. Pictures don’t do it justice, and it is an amazing thing to see. This is another country that is great to visit.

South Africa

422909_10100543690751751_495185150_n

Several years ago, my brother quit his job to move to South Africa and do his Masters. It didn’t really occur to me to visit him, because it was basically the other side of the world, and also I didn’t think I could get the time off work. My mom encouraged me to go over Christmas, because combining the holidays with every vacation day I would earn for a year would give me two weeks in RSA. I am so glad she did. We had a great time. It was nice to see my brother for the first time in a year, and it was really interesting to see the country by staying in it, rather than travelling around in a tour bus. Granted, if I had planned the trip myself, every minute of the day would have been filled with activities, but that isn’t my brother’s style, and that’s okay. He made sure I got to see everything that interested me, including lots of time with animals, beautiful scenery, wineries, soccer stadiums, and historical landmarks. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Questions for you:

Have you travelled to any of these countries?

What is your favourite vacation memory?

Leave a Reply

