My “bucket list”

So this is a follow-up on my Monday post. I looked back on some of my favourite past trips, and said that I don’t have a bucket list. It’s true. I don’t. I will be happy wherever I end up travel, because I was bitten by the travel bug at a young age. But there are some destinations that I would like to see:

Kilimanjaro

Climbing Mount Kilimanjaro was actually supposed to happen this past year. I had put it off a bit because I was involved in a big project at work, and didn’t feel comfortable taking time off during peak travel time. And then Joaquin proposed, so our travel money went to a wedding instead. It is still on my list as something I would like to do at some point. I’m aiming to squeeze it in before I turn 30, if possible, but I’m not sure if I can manage it.

mt-kilimanjaro1

This hasn’t been a long-time dream, but it is something I’ve wanted to do for a few years. I can tell you exactly what led to it. Before our Nepal vacation, I was incredibly nervous about what the trek would entail. I didn’t think I would be able to do it, physically. We trained a lot, working out most days, and going for lengthy walks on the weekend. Then we got there, and it was a piece of cake! I’m not expecting Kili to be a piece of cake, but this is part of the reason why I want to get there before I turn 30. Also, my trip to South Africa was so incredible that I would love to see more parts of the continent. Joaquin and I both love watching nature documentaries, so in an ideal world, we could combine a Kili trek with a safari or two.

Australia

australia

It just seems a bit silly that I love to travel, but have never been to Australia. This is a trip that I could probably do when I’m older, and may have to, in order to afford it. I would love to get out there sooner rather than later. I know a lot of people who have been, and it seems amazing. Plus, again, there’s that animal thing. Basically, it is my goal to hit all of the continents, because they are each so distinct. I would do a super-budget tour to get there, and cram as much in as I could. Have to keep working on the husband for this one!

Thailand

thailand

Honestly, Thailand never interested me. It always just seemed like a party destination, and I want more from my vacations. But when I started getting organized for Bali, I realized that there was lots to do in Thailand, and it would actually be an incredible trip. Plus, if it hasn’t become obvious yet, I enjoy some adventure travel. In an ideal world, we would do some trekking in Thailand, and then see the sights afterwards. I know there are a lot of leeches, which doesn’t excite me too much, but I would be willing to deal with them for an amazing trek.

Costa Rica

Central-America-Costa-Rica-Jewels-9-volcano

This one is a bit closer to home, but it seems like a beautiful spot, but also one with some affordable adventure travel options. When I get the wanderlust really badly, I often look into week-long jaunts to Costa Rica, to see if I can swing it. I know I will some day. A friend of mine just got back from there, and had an amazing time. I’m sure I will make it there someday!

Soccer Tournament

Finale_Coupe_de_France_2010-2011_(Lille_LOSC_vs_Paris_SG_PSG) 10492076_10101694150620951_3349988970266772005_n

Okay, so this one is on the list because it is my next trip, and I am so excited! Several months ago, we entered the lottery to get tickets for the 2016 Euro Cup in France. France is my team, and the country is one of my favourite travel destinations. I can’t believe we were lucky enough to actually get tickets, and I’m so excited to find out which team they will be playing. I hope to take Joaquin around France a bit, since he has never been, but I am so excited to take in as many matches as I can, and just soak up the atmosphere of the excitement of a major tournament, on home soil no less! If I had a bucket list, this would be on it, and I know it is going to be a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

France Veritas

Questions for you:

Have you been to any of these places?

What is on your bucket list?

Leave a Reply

