Five Friday Favourites

Hello, and happy Friday everyone! Another week (almost) under the belt. Jet lag has been really kicking my butt this week, so I’m excited for the weekend for two reasons: 1) I will get a chance to rest; 2) tomorrow is Joaquin’s birthday, and I want to give him a great day. In the meantime, here are my five Friday favourites:

1. Clean water

CAM01214

We were never really short on water while we were in Bali, because our hotels and tour companies kept us well-supplied. But it was unsettling to know we had a finite supply, and brushing your teeth with bottled water is never fun. I don’t mean to sound snobby, just profoundly grateful to live in such a water-rich country. I’m even more dedicated to raising money for clean water with charity miles.

2. Fresh vegetables (and fruits)

CAM01112

This goes along with my first point. I ate as well as I could while in Bali, but the choices were limited, and I was very wary after a nightmare bout of food poisoning in Nepal that hospitalized me. Now that I’m back in Canada, if it’s green, I’m eating it! I’m especially glad that I came home to apple season, and a trip to the orchard is imminent!

3. Coconut water

2015-10-01_06.14.04

I had lots of excellent beverages while in Bali – watermelon juice, pineapple juice, banana juice, pulpy aloe vera juice – but the best was all of the fresh coconut water. At every opportunity, I paid ten cents for an entire young coconut, and drank it all. It tasted delicious, and the electrolytes were definitely needed. I mentioned this to my wonderful mom, who had a case of coconut water waiting for me when I got home. I’ve been devouring it all week.

4. Tone It Up Fall Challenge

Fit-for-fall-charity-challenge-tone-it-up

I decently kept up with my fitness while I was away, and ate the best I could, but I was so excited to hit my workouts and eat clean again. I would have been enthused no matter what, but it really helped to have the TIU Fall Challenge to look forward to. Even though I missed the first week while on vacation, the challenge has really helped me to hit the ground running, and I feel great.

5. Rugby World Cup

1f8caef09915bd47b9a2d911c74caf48

Looking back at the rest of this week’s favourites, I realize it seems like this one doesn’t belong. Because of the large numbers of Aussie tourists in Bali, the RWC was everywhere, and we got really into it. Plus, it is nice to be able to watch Canada in a World Cup (even though they don’t seem like they will be in much longer). Since we got home, it has been harder to watch the matches, but we are still avidly following the results, and hope to catch any matches that air on the weekends. I just think it is such an athletic sport, and while I would never want to play it, I respect those who do!

Hope you have a great weekend! I’ll provide a full report on the success of my jet-lagged birthday preparations next week!

Questions for you:

What are your weekend plans?

What is your favourite sport?

Do you like coconut water?

Leave a Reply

