Starting a Book Club!

So, my coworker and I started a book club. We always talk about books, so we decided we should just formalize it. At first, we tried to come up with a lot of people to join, but we finally decided to just ask two other people. At least to start, we figured it would be best to just keep it small, since we didn’t know what we were doing. We agreed to meet on the first Tuesday of the month, and our first meeting was just to establish how things were going to work.

3063aee0d6e26b1844b899a05d381367

You may have gathered by the date that we had our first meeting last night. We agreed that the order for hosting/choosing the book would be alphabetical by last name. Whoever hosts provides refreshments and leads the discussion, but everyone must come to the meeting with one discussion point – a character they loved or hated, a favourite passage, etc.

lovebooks

My friend had printed off a list of books available at our library – they do a “book-club-in-a-bag” program so that you can get enough copies for your book club. I am maybe the biggest reader of the group, so I had read the most books from the list. Even though it wasn’t my turn to pick, they asked me to name three books from the list that I hadn’t read. So I did, but it turned out that everyone hated my choices. Oh well! They will have to read them when my turn rolls around (in February).

a-farewell-to-book

So my friend really wanted to read I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith. One of the four of us had read it, but we agreed that if one person had read a book, that wasn’t a dealbreaker, as long as they didn’t hate it and were willing to read it again. Kathleen did agree to read it again, but it turned out that that particular set had been checked out of the library already. We ended up going with The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, which had been one of my original picks. Although it would have been my choice when my turn rolled around, it is just as well that we are reading it now, as none of us have read it. I remember when it first came out, my friends hassled me to read it, but I never got around to it. My friend has already picked up our copies for us, so I am looking forward to giving it a read!

1cb75e239b827168ff8dc3e33be44218

In the meantime, I am still working my way through some Mercedes Lackey Valdemar books, but I am nearing the end, so it will be great to have some more books to read. Funnily enough, since we came up with the idea of starting our own book club, I was invited to join another one. I don’t know the girl who invited me all that well, and walking into a room of strangers is very difficult for me, but the book that they are reading this month is The Handmaid’s Tale. You may recall that Atwood is my absolute favourite. Although Handmaid’s Tale isn’t my favourite of her works, it is a good one that I have read several times, and I even went to see the opera of it. So if anything can compel me to go hang out with strangers, it is the prospect of talking about Atwood. Either way, I am going to have to revisit the book!

Questions for you:

Have you ever been in a book club?

Do you have any advice for me about it?

What is your favourite book?

Leave a Reply

