What I’m reading right now

We were supposed to have our first proper book club meeting this week. We had already met to figure out how things were going to go, and to pick our first book, but this was to be our first discussion.

You’ve probably noticed that I said “supposed to”. Sadly, it isn’t happening.

There are only four of us in the club. One girl broke her ankle a few months ago, and is still not very mobile. We tried to get a room at work, but it did not really fly. Another girl has not read any of the book, which was not a pleasant surprise. I was game to meet, but am still struggling a bit to haul myself out of the house and behave like a normal human, so my participation was also questionable.

So we’ve decided to postpone our meeting until the beginning of December. That will probably be better, but I’m also a bit worried that this is the beginning of the end. If people can’t be bothered to read/get together for the first meeting, that doesn’t bode well for the future.

I’m also worried that I am going to completely forget all of the details of the book between now and then. I read it two weeks ago, and have read a lot since then. Maybe I will review it on here.

In the meantime, I have been reading up a storm. I have 10% Happier out from the library, and I haven’t started it yet. Same with the Tone It Up book. Instead, I have been making my way through the two very large bags of books that my former uni roommate loaned me. I started with the Sally Lockhart books by Philip Pullman, which I really enjoyed. It was really interesting, because when each novel ended, I immediately wanted to know what would happen next, even though the novels actually really jumped around in terms of characters, timing, and conflict.

After that, I read a murder mystery called “Murder With Peacocks”. It was fun and fluffy, and a bit too wedding-y for my taste, but an enjoyable read.

I’m now reading the first book in Trudi Canavan’s Black Magician Trilogy. I actually have no idea what is in the bag, so my reading choices depend solely on what book I happen to grab (though the series are all stuck together with elastics, so I do read those in order). It is a bit of a fun game to play.

The other book club that I have been invited to join, but haven’t yet attended, is reading Jenny Lawson’s Furiously Happy this month, so I am going to try to get that one under my belt in case I do decide to attend the meeting.

What are you reading?

Any recommendations?

2 thoughts on “What I’m reading right now

Leave a Reply

